Back to News

EPCR makes Semifinal Appointments

E-mail Print
Selected Article image

European Professional Club Rugby has named the match officials for the semifinals of the Heineken Cup and the Challenge Cup.

By Paul Dobson, Moonsport

Jérôme Garcès and Wayne Barnes have been appointed to the Heineken Champions Cup semifinals, Nigel Owens and Johnny Lacey to the Challenge Cup semifinals.

The Heineken Cup semifinals will take place on 20 and 21 April 2019, the Challenge Cup semifinals on 20 April 2019.

The appointments are made by EPCR's referees' selection committee, chaired by former Test referee Joël Jutge of France.


Heineken Champions Cup Semifinals

Saturday, 20 April 2019
Saracens vs Munster
at Ricoh Arena, Coventry
Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant referees: Romain Poite (France), Mathieu Raynal (France)
Television match official: Philippe Bonhoure (France)

Sunday, 21 April 2019
Leinster vs Toulouse
at Aviva Stadium, Dublin
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant referees: Luke Pearce (England), Matthew Carley (England)
Television match official: Rowan Kitt (England).

Challenge Cup Semifinals

Saturday, 20 April 2019
La Rochelle vs Sale Sharks at Stade Marcel Deflandre, La Rochelle
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales))
Assistant referees: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)), Ian Davies (Wales))
Television match official: Olly Hodges (Ireland).

Clermont Auvergne vs Harlequins at Stade Marcel-Michelin, Clermont-Ferrand
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Andrew Brace (Ireland), George Clancy (Ireland)
Television match official: Simon McDowell (Ireland) advert