Back to News

Peyper Referee of the Year again

E-mail Print
Selected Article image

For the third time, Jaco Peyper has scooped the Referee of the Year Award made by the South African Rugby Union, the 18th such award.

By Paul Dobson, Moonsport

It is certainly no surprise as he continues to referee outstandingly all over the World.

Just the stats of his career tell of success. Peyper has refereed 95 Super rugby matches including finals in 2015 and 2017 to go with Currie Cup Finals in 2016, 2017 and 2018. That means that he will soon reach 100 Super Rugby matches as a referee. He has refereed 47 Test matches, including nine Six Nations Matches, starting in 2011.

His next Test appointment is a Six Nations match between Wales and England in Cardiff, always a special match. And the World Cup in Japan beckons.

Peyper is an excellent example to referees. He has an excellent knowledge of the laws and how they work in practice. He is outstandingly fit and gets into good positions. He is calm and confident and his communication with the players is clear and kept to a sensible minimum.

Previous Referees of the Year

The first year the award was made is 2001. The first recipient was Mark Lawrence who continues to play a big part in South African refereeing.

2001: Mark Lawrence
2002: Eugene Daniels
2003: André Watson
2004: Jenny Bentel
2005: Jonathan Kaplan
2006: Jonathan Kaplan
2007: Jonathan Kaplan
2008: Mark Lawrence
2009: Jonathan Kaplan
2010: Craig Joubert
2011: Craig Joubert
2012: Jaco Peyper
2013: Jonathan Kaplan
2014: Craig Joubert
2015: Rasta Rasivhenge
2016: Rasta Rasivhenge
2017: Jaco Peyper
2018: Jaco Peyper advert