Back to News

Referees for Both Sevens Series

E-mail Print
Selected Article image

World Rugby has announced the 26 referees from 15 different countries for the 2019-20 Men and Women's Series. There have been 13 referees appointed to each group.

By Paul Dobson, Moonsport

The first tournament will be held at Glendale in Colorado, USA, on 5-6 October 2-19.

There will be eight rounds in the women's series, more than before, and 10 rounds in the men's series, the first of which will be in Dubai on 5-7 December 2019.

In six of the rounds, the men's and women's series will coincide.

Sevens will again be part of the Olympic Games, this time in Tokyo in 2020. One of the referees chosen for this year's circuit, Rasta Rasivhenge, refereed the men's Seven's final at the Rio Olympics in 2016.

New to the women's panel is Julianne Zussman. In her playing days she played in 44 Tests for Canada, including those at three World Cups. She also played for Canada at Sevens in 2008 and has been coaching since stopping playing. In 2008 she became a referee.

Julianne Zussman is not the only World Cup player on the women's panel. Also there is joy Neville, Ireland's former captain, who not only played at a Rugby World Cup but also refereed at one, including the 2017 final.

Anthony Buchanan, the chairman of World Rugby's referee selectors, said of those chosen for the Sevens series: "We have a very experienced unit of referees who have a wealth of experience officiating on the world series, which this year features more women’s events than ever before, before the season culminates with the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games."


Women’s Sevens Series Panel: Sara Cox (England), Hollie Davidson (Scotland), Emily Hsieh (USA), Lauren Jenner (New Zealand), Adam Jones (Wales), Sakurako Kawasaki (Japan), Tyler Miller (Australia), Ashleigh Murray (South Africa), Joy Neville (Ireland), Amy Perrett (Australia), Madeline Putz (Australia), Tevita Rokoverneni (Fiji), Julianne Zussman (Canada)

Men’s Sevens Series Panel: James Doleman (New Zealand), Paulo Duarte (Portugal), Craig Evans (Wales), Francisco Gonzalez (Uruguay), Sam Grove White (Scotland), Richard Haughton (England), Richard Kelly (New Zealand), Damon Murphy (Australia), Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa), Matt Rodden (Hong Kong), Jérémy Rozier (France), Damian Schneider (Argentina), Jordan Way (Australia)


Women's Series

1. 5-6 October 2019: Glendale, Colorado
2. 5-7 December: Dubai
3. 13-15 December 2019: Cape Town
4. 25-26 January 2020: Hamilton, New Zealand
5. 1-2 February 2020: Sydney
6. 3-5 April: Hong Kong
7. 2-3 May 2020: Langford, Canada
8. 30 - 31 May 2020: Paris

Men's Series

1. 5-7 December 2019: Dubai
2. 13-15 December 2019: Cape Town
3. 25-26 January 2020: Hamilton, New Zealand
4. 1-2 February 2020: Sydney
5. 28 February - 1 March 2020: Los Angeles
6. 7-8 March 2020: Vancouver, Canada
7. 3-5 April: Hong Kong
8. 11-12 April 2020: Singapore
9. 23-24 May 2020: London
10. 30 - 31 May 2020: Paris advert