Back to News

Referees to 19 August 2017

E-mail Print
Selected Article image

The Currie Cup starts. The great competition which dates back to 1890 has been kicked about and devalued of late but still is the Holy Grail of provincial rugby in South Africa.

By Paul Dobson, Moonsport

The Rugby Championship was formed in 2012 when Argentina was added to the Tri-Nations which had its beginning in 1996, 106 years after the Currie Cup, but SANZAAR's competitions have severely damaged the Currie Cup.


Rugby Championship

Australia vs New Zealand at ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Luke Pearce (England)
Television match official: Marius Jonker (South Africa)

South Africa vs Argentina at King's Park, Durban, South Africa
Referee: Ben O'Keeffe (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Angus Gardner (Australia), Andrew Brace (Ireland)
Television match official: Simon McDowell (Ireland)

Rugby Africa Gold Cup

Uganda Zimbabwe at Kyadondo Rugby Club, Kampala
Referee: Egon Seconds (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Nicardo Pienaar (Namibia), Victor Oduor (Kenya)
Citing commissioner: James Jumas (Kenya)

Namibia Kenya at Hage Geingob Stadium, Windhoek
Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Saudah Adiru (Uganda), Precious Pazani (Zimbabwe)
Citing commissioner: Mudiwa Mundawarara (Zimbabwe)

Tunisia vs Morocco at Stade Mustapha Ben Jannet, Monastir
Referee: Cédric Marchat (France)
Assistant referees: Ignace Ndri Kan (Cote d'Ivoire), Sylvain Mane (Senegal)
Citing commissioner: Charles Yapo (Rwanda)

Central American C Championship

El Salvador vs Honduras at Estadio Olímpico José Simón Azcona, Tegucigalpa
Referee: tba


Australia vs New Zealand at ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Referee: Tim Baker (Hong Kong)
Assistant referees: Ian Tempest (England), Amber Hibbard (Australia)
Television match official: Ian Smith (Australia)

Under-18, Round 2

Wales vs England
Referee: Andrea Piardi (Italy)
Assistant referees; Jaco Smith (South Africa), Bulela Qwane (South Africa)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

SA Schools vs France
Referee: Keith Allen (Scotland)
Assistant referees; Jaco Smith (South Africa), Bulela Qwane (South Africa)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa) 

Round 3

France vs Wales
SA Schools vs England


Clermont vs Canada in Issoire
Referee: Alexandre Ruiz (France)

Castres vs Sale in Ste Affrique
Referee: Romain Poite (France)

Grenoble vs Zebre in Grenoble
Referee: Cyrille Lafon (France)

Munster vs London Irish at Irish Independent Park
Referee: Frank Murphy (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Kieran Barry (Ireland), Richard Horgan (Ireland)

Leinster vs Newcastle Falcons at Energia Park
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant referees: John Carvill, Dermot Blake

Leinster 2nd XV vs Coventry RFC 1st XV at Energia Park
Referee: Robert O'Sullivan (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Dermot Blake (Ireland), Tim Townend (Ireland)

Connacht vs Wasps at Dubarry Park
Referee: Jonny Erskine (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Leo Colgan (Ireland), Helen O'Reilly (Ireland)

Ulster vs Gloucester at Kingspan Stadium, Belfast
Referee: Sean Gallagher (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Mark Patton, Chris Busby (Ireland)

Munster Under-19 vs Leicester Tigers RFC 1st XV at University of Limerick
Referee: Peter Martin (Ireland)




Perpignan vs Racing in Perpignan
Referee: Vincent Blasco

La Rochelle vs Agen in La Rochelle
Referee: Laurent Cardona

Toulouse vs Pau in Gaillac
Referee: Julien Castaignède

New Zealand

NPC, Round 1

North Harbour vs Northland
Tasman vs Canterbury
Manawatu vs Waikato
Auckland vs Counties
Bay of Plenty vs Taranaki
Wellington vs Otago
Southland vs Hawke's Bay


Hawkes Bay vs Manawatu at Tremain Field, Napier
Referee: local

Manawatu Development vs Wairarapa Bush at Dannevirke Rugby Park
Referee: Tipene Cottrell

South Canterbury vs Otago B in Waimate
Referee: Jono Bredin

Wanganui vs Hawkes Bay Saracens XV in Marton
Referee: Bex Mahoney

South Africa

Currie Cup Premier

Free State Cheetahs vs Blue Bulls at Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
Referee: Dan Jones (Wales)
Assistant referees: Ben Crouse, Jaco Kotze
Television match official: Lourens van der Merwe

Pumas vs Griquas at Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant referees: Ricus van der Hoven, Des van Wyk
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman

Women's Inter-Provincials

Free State vs Blue Bulls at Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
Referee: Murray Ashleigh

South Western Districts vs Griffons at Outeniqua Park, George
Referee: Siyanda Ketse

Kwa-Zulu Natal vs Eastern Province at Jaguars Rugby Club, Sydenham
Referee: Lusanda Mtiya

Border vs Western Province at Buffalo City Municipal Stadium, East London
Referee: Maria Mabote

Boland vs Griquas at Caledon Sports Grounds, Caledon
Referee: Bulela Qwane

Golden Lions vs Leopards at Milo Park, UJ Stadium, Johannesburg
Referee: Mothusi Shuping

Limpopo vs Pumas at Old Peter Mokaba Stadium, C-field
Referee: Zander Kubannek

Under-20 Championship

Griquas vs Valke at Tafel Lager Park, Kimberley
Referee: Griffin Colby

South Western Districts Eagles at Griffons at Outeniqua Park, George
Referee: Bulelani Naka

Under-19 Championship

Leopards vs Western Province at Fanie du Toit Sportfields, Potchefstroom
Referee: Stephan Geldenhuys

Eastern Province Elephants vs Free State at DF Malherbe High School, Walmer
Referee: Phumzile Mbewu

Sharks vs Golden Lions at Moses Mabida Stadium, Durban
Referee: Divan Uys

Varsity Shield Promotion/ Relegation

Rhodes vs UKZN at Rhodes Great Field, Grahamstown
Referee: Phumzile Mbewu
Assistant referees: Rodney Boneparte, Basil de Doncker advert