Back to News

Running the World Cup´s Judiciary

E-mail Print
Selected Article image

World Rugby has named the men to keep check of player behaviour at the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan.

By Paul Dobson, Moonsport

Three panels have been appointed, one of eight citing commissioners, another of nine to chair judicial hearings and a third of nine judicial panel members.

Citing Commissioners: James Absaloms (Kenya), Freek Burger (South Africa), Shaun Gallagher (England), John Montgomery (Scotland), Scott Nowland (Australia), Michael O’Leary (New Zealand), David Pelton (USA), Murray Whyte (Ireland).

Chairpersons of Judicial Hearings: Adam Casselden SC (Australia), Jean-Noël Couraud (France), Sir James Dingemans (England), Mike Hamlin (England), Nigel Hampton QC (New Zealand), Alan Hudson (Canada), Roger Morris (Wales), Shao-Ing Wang (Singapore), Pamela Woodman (Scotland)

Judicial panel: Donal Courtney (Ireland), David Croft (Australia), Frank Hadden (Scotland), Olly Kohn (Wales), John Langford Australia), Leon Lloyd (England), José Luis Rolandi (Argentina), Stefan Terblanche (South Africa), Valeriu Toma (Romania).

Nine people on the first two panels had the experience of previous World Cups: Absaloms, Burger, Nowland and O'Leary of the citing commissioners and judicial chairmen Casselden, Couraud, Dingemans, Hudson and Morris.

Burger is a former Test referee who became the first national manager of South African referees after his playing days were over.

Of the judicial panel Terblanche played wing for South Africa at the World Cups of 1999 and 2003 and is at present the CEO of the Springbok legends, a body that goes about having fun and doing good. Wallaby Croft was at the 2003 World Cup, Frank Hadden coached Scotland at the 2007 World Cup, Kohn played for Wales, Langford played for Australia and Lloyd played for England. Courtney and Rolandi were international referees.

A citing commissioner from a neutral country will be appointed for each of the 48 matches in the tournament. The citing commissioner will review the match live and will have access to all the available angles and Hawk-Eye multi-camera feeds. The citing window will operate until 36 hours after the conclusion of the match.

Teams may refer incidents of alleged foul play to the citing commissioner for review within 12 hours of the conclusion of the match, but only the citing commissioner has the power to cite a player.

Disciplinary hearings will be convened within 48 hours of the match so as not to have an adverse impact on team preparation and decisions will be published immediately on conclusion.

The judicial committee for hearings will be made up of a chairman and two judicial panel members.

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “Rugby World Cup is one of sport's greatest events and, as with the players and match officials, the disciplinary team has been selected on merit and with clear, consistent and accurate decision-making as the central consideration.

“This is an extremely talented and experienced group, who will work closely with the match official team during the tournament to ensure alignment. The selection of former international players, referees and coaches to the disciplinary process over the last few years has been significant in ensuring rugby empathy in cases and it is great to have people with considerable test experience, not just on the field, but as valued members of our disciplinary team.” advert