Clip 3 - 4 June 2018 Law 10

The Sharks lose possession and the Jaguares fullback Emiliano Boffelli gathers the ball, runs and then kicks the ball a long way downfield towards the Sharks' goalposts.

Sibusiso Nkosi (14) of the Sharks rushes back but in his attempt to gather the ball he knocks it behind his goal-line. Nkosi dives at the ball and knocks it back into the field of play. Robert du Preez, the Sharks' flyhalf, falling back grabs the ball as Tomas Lezana and Jerónimo Fuentes of the Jaguares move to get it.

The referee penalises Du Preez for being offside. Scrumhalf Gonzalo Bertranou taps the penalty and Ramiro Moyano scores a try in the left corner.

Penalty correct?

Du Preez is well and truly offside. He plays the ball and he prevents the Jaguares players from getting an advantage for Nkosi's knock forward.

Law 10.1 - A player is offside in open play if that player is in front of a team-mate who is carrying the ball or who last played it. An offside player must not interfere with play. This includes:
Playing the ball.

Nkosi played the ball.
Du Preez was in front of Nkosi.
Du Preez deliberately played the ball.

The penalty is correct.

A penalty try possible?

Could well be worth considering. advert