Clip 3 - 31 July 2018 - Law 8

Malcolm Marx of the Lions scored a try and his flyhalf, Elton Jantjies, is to take the conversion. Jantjies goes back to his starting position, hands joined in front of him.

He moves his feet and then moves his left leg back stiffly and is moving it forward when the ball falls off the tee. By this time Waratahs are charging, Jantjies hurries to the ball, the referee calls "Kick it", and Jantjies bends to pick up the ball to put it back on the tee. But the Waratahs kept coming and he was not going to be able to get his kick in. The kick is disallowed.

Jantjies appears to feel hard done by. The referee explains that he had started his run and that once Jantjies had begun with his move to kick the ball, the Waratahs were allowed to charge and keep on charging. Jantjies appears not to know this or to claim that he had not started the process of kicking.

Law 8.11 If the ball falls over after the kicker begins the approach to kick, the kicker may then kick or attempt a dropped goal.

Law 8.12 If the ball falls over and rolls away from the line through the place where the try was awarded and the kicker then kicks the ball over the crossbar, the conversion is successful.

Law 8.13 If the ball falls over and rolls into touch after the kicker begins the approach to kick, the kick is disallowed.


Law 8.14 All opposing players retire to their goal line and do not overstep that line until the kicker begins the approach to kick. When the kicker does this, they may charge or jump to prevent a goal but must not be physically supported by other players in these actions.

Law 8.16 If the ball falls over after the kicker begins the approach to kick, the opponents may continue to charge.

It would be astonishing if a player who habitually kicks conversions at the highest level of the game, did not know the laws applicable to kicking a conversion.

What Jantjies could have done was kick the ball where it lay next to the tee or pick the ball up and kick a drop at the posts. advert