Clip 2 - 20 August 2018 - Law 11

It is raining at Newlands and the powerful wind is blowing. From a line-out, the Cheetahs' scrumhalf Tiaan Meyer passes to his right towards Francois Venter.

Suddenly the wind takes the ball and it curves forward, a metre or more ahead of where Meyer passed the ball. The ball drops to ground and Joshua Stander of Western Province foots the ball on.

It ricochets off the shin of Aidon Davis, the Cheetahs No.8 and Scarra Ntubeni of Western Province get the ball, is and gets the ball back.

Western Province go right and Dan Kriel passes to Dyllin Leyds, but the pass is forward. The referee awards a scrum, to the Cheetahs

Right? But what about Meyer's pass?


Throw forward: When a player throws or passes the ball forward i.e. if the arms of the player passing the ball move forward.

Meyer's arms do not move forward, which means that he did not pass forward. It was not a forward pass.

Play goes on.

By the way, the same does not apply to throws into the line-out. There is the wind blows the ball skew, the throw-in is skew. advert