Clip 7 – 11 September 2018 - Law 14

Divan Rossouw of the Blue Bulls runs with the ball. Lionel Mapoe of the Golden Lions tackles Rossouw and brings him to ground.

Mapoe also goes to ground, behind Rossouw. Rossouw releases the ball back to his side. Mapoe gets up and scoops the ball to his scrumhalf Dillon Smit

The referee penalises Mapoe, who is surprised.

This is a recent trial amendment to the law, which makes it perhaps understandable that Mapoe was not aware of it.


  • The tackler must get up before playing the ball and then can only play from their side of the tackle gate.

There are three grammatical errors in the amendment but the law is clear enough. Mapoe was required to go back behind his side of the tackle before playing the ball. advert