Clip 1 - 13 September 2018 - Law 19

From a line-out, Cameron Wright, the Sharks scrumhalf, passes to his right to left wing Lazio Mvovo who has come off his wing and is in the flyhalf position.

Mvovo charges ahead and is tackled by prop Marne Coetzee and hooker Marko Janse van Rensburg. Other players join into the tackle/ruck and immediately the referee blows his whistle to stop play.

No infringement has happened but Mvovo has clashed heads with Coetzee and is lying on his back - looking in trouble. The referee stopped play to protect Mvovo and to have him attended to immediately.

Eventually, Mvovo is taken off the field for a head injury assessment.

The referee restarts play with a scrum, Sharks to put the ball in.

Everything that the referee was 100% correct.

Law 5.5: The referee may stop play and allow time for:

  • Player injury for up to one minute. If a player is seriously injured, the referee has the discretion to allow more than one minute for that player to be removed from the playing area.

Law 19.1: Infringement/stoppage: Stoppage due to injury.

  • Location of Scrum: In the scrum zone at the point where the ball was last played.
  • Who throws in: The team that last played the ball advert