Clip 2 – 13 December - Law 21

Argentina are penalised just inside the Barbarians' half. Elton Jantjies of the Barbarians kicks to the touchline on his left, hoping to get a line-out near the Argentinian line. The ball flies downfield, hits the top of the corner post and goes into touch-in-goal.

The referee awards a scrum to Argentina where Jantjies kicked the ball, inside the Barbarians' half.

Right?

Law 21.12: BALL KICKED DEAD THROUGH IN-GOAL

If a team kicks the ball through their opponents’ in-goal from the field of play into touch-in-goal or on or over the dead-ball line, except by an unsuccessful kick at goal or attempted dropped goal, the defending team can choose:
                a. To have a drop-out anywhere on or behind the 22-metre line; or
                b. To have a scrum at the place where the ball was kicked.

It is irrelevant whether the ball touched the corner post or not. It went into touch-in-goal - from the field of play into touch-in-goal. The option to Argentina was a drop-out or a scrum where Jantjies kicked the ball. They chose the scrum.

This was the correct decision.

outsurance.co.za advert