Clip 3 – 20 February 2019 - Law 14

Conor Murray of Ireland kicks the ball downfield. Sean Maitland of Scotland catches the ball and passes it infield to Blair Kinghorn.

Kinghorn runs downfield at the Irish defenders. Joe Carbery tackles Kinghorn and Ultan Dillane of Ireland goes in to grab the ball. Falling back to the tackle, Jamie Ritchie (7) of Scotland goes straight in to clean Dillane out.

The referee penalises Ritchie for coming in at the side.

The referee was correct. Ritchie had to go behind Kinghorn and then play Dillane from there.

Law 14.8 (c): Other players must arrive at the tackle from the direction of their own goal-line before playing the ball.

outsurance.co.za advert