Clip 1 – 25 February 2019 - Law 18

The Highlanders have the ball and Ben Smith kicks towards the touchline on his right. Stephen Donald, back again for the Chiefs, runs across to catch the ball. He does so and his momentum takes him into touch. The assistant referee signals a lineout, as well he should, and indicates that it is the Highlanders' throw-in. The crowd grumbles.

Law 18: Touch or touch-in-goal
1. The ball is in touch or touch-in-goal when:

a. The ball or ball-carrier touches the touchline, touch-in-goal line or anything beyond.

b. A player, who is already touching the touchline, touch-in-goal line or anything beyond, catches or holds the ball.

i. If the ball has reached the plane of touch when it is caught, the catcher is not deemed to have taken the ball into touch.
ii. If the ball has not reached the plane of touch when it is caught or picked up, the catcher is deemed to have taken the ball into touch, regardless of whether the ball was in motion or stationary.

None of b. applies to Donald as is not a player already in touch, because his feet are in the air when he catches the ball and so he is not touching the touchline when he catches the ball.

And so a. applies to Donald - the ball-carrier who is carrying the ball when he lands in touch.

Law 18.8

The ball-carrier goes into touch.
The location of the mark of touch is where the player touches the touchline or the ground beyond it.
Who throws in: the opposition.

And so it was the Highlanders' ball to throw in.

outsurance.co.za advert