Clip 5 – 18 March 2019 - Law 17

Tommaso Allen of Italy kicks high and long down towards the England goal-line. Well inside his 22, England No.8 Vunipola catches the ball and claims a mark. The referee awards the free kick. Vunipola puts boot to ball and passes it to Elliot Daly who hoofs the ball downfield.

OK?

Not really.

After a mark, the ball must be brought into play by a kick.

Law 17.5: RESTARTING PLAY AFTER A MARK
The player who claimed the mark takes the free-kick (in accordance with Law 20).

Isn't that what Vunipola did?

Law 20.11: TAKING A PENALTY OR FREE-KICK
If the kicker is holding it, it must clearly leave the hands.

Vunipola was holding the ball. The ball certainly does not appear to leave his hands.  

outsurance.co.za advert