Clip 5 - 7 May 2019 - Law 17

Jordie Barrett of the Hurricanes charges ahead. Stephen Donald and Anton Lienert-Brown grab Barrett and keep him upright. They do not go to ground.

Immediately Wes Goosen and Ardie Savea charge into the group in support of Barrett. When they do so a maul is formed. In the contact of Goosen with Barrett (ball-carrier), Donald and Lienert-Brown a maul is formed.

What happens from now is as a maul and the treatment of it is as a maul - not a tackle. There is no tackle.

Maul: A phase of play consisting of a ball-carrier and at least one player from each team, bound together and on their feet.

The group falls to ground. What falls to ground is a maul.

Law 17: A maul ends unsuccessfully when:
d. The ball-carrier goes to ground and the ball is not immediately available.
Sanction: Scrum.

Whose ball?

Law 19.1: Where the game is restarted with a scrum and which team throws in is determined as follows:
A maul that ends unsuccessfully.
The team not in possession at the start of the maul. If the referee cannot decide which team had possession, the team moving forward before the maul stopped. If neither team was moving forward, the attacking team.

The referee awarded the scrum to the Chiefs, which was the correct decision. advert