Clip 3 - 19 June 2019 - Law 10

The Crusaders score, the Highlanders kick off, Kieran Read charges and Liam Squire tackles Read emphatically. Players gather and the ball comes back to the Crusaders.

As it emerges, Crusaders' scrumhalf, Bryn Hall, taps it forward with his left foot and the ball makes contact with a Crusader foot in front of it. The referee blows his whistle and orders a scrum, explaining that the player that the ball had touched was accidentally offside.

Law 10.5: A player is accidentally offside if the player cannot avoid being touched by the ball or by a team-mate who is carrying the ball. Only if the offending team gains an advantage should play stop.
Sanction: Scrum.

The referee was perfectly correct in his decision - a decision that could be made more often when scrumhalves play around with an emerging ball. advert