Clip 2 - 1 July 2019 - Law 19

The Jaguares have a scrum 15 metres in from the touchline on their right. Tomás Cubelli pouts the ball into the scrum and Agustín Creevy hooks it.

The ball is in the scrum when Bryn Hall, the Crusader’s scrumhalf moves infield a good 10 metres. The referee penalises Hall - and Joaquín Diaz Bonilla, the Jaguares flyhalf, goals to open the score in the match.

Law 19 OFFSIDE AT A SCRUM
30. Once play in the scrum begins, the scrum-half of the team not in possession:
a. Takes up a position with both feet behind the ball and close to the scrum but not in the space between the flanker and the number eight or
b. Permanently retires to a point on the offside line either at that team’s hindmost foot, or
c. Permanently retires at least five metres behind the hindmost foot.

This time Hall is clearly in front of Read's back foot and does not comply with b. above.

It was right that Hall was penalised.

outsurance.co.za advert