Clip 1 - 5 September 2019 - Law 14

"Double Movement"

The Jaguares are on the attack, battering at the Griffons line. Going right the scrumhalf, Gregorio Del Prete passes to No.8 Santiago Montagner who is close to the line. Quintin Vorster and Thato Mavundla of the Griffons combine in an effort to stop Montagner. Montagner's right knee goes to ground. He has the ball in his left hand and his right hand goes to ground. Montagner's right hand levers him up and he plunges over the line. The referee awards the try, and Domingo Miotti has placed the ball for the conversion when the referee stops the kick and consults the TMO. The incident is examined and the decision is that there was no try and in fact Montagner was penalised.

1. For a tackle to occur, the ball-carrier is held and brought to ground by one or more opponents.
2. Being brought to ground means that the ball-carrier is lying, sitting or has at least one knee on the ground or on another player who is on the ground.

Montagner is held and while he is held his right knee is on the ground. He is tackled.

7 Tackled players must immediately:
a. Make the ball available so that play can continue by releasing, passing or pushing the ball in any direction except forward. They may place the ball in any direction.
b. Move away from the ball or get up.
c. Ensure that they do not lie on, over or near the ball to prevent opposition players from gaining possession of it.
Sanction: Penalty.

Montagner carries out none of his responsibilities. Far from releasing the ball, he gets up with it, which is not one of the things he is allowed to do.

The referee was right to penalise him.

That the referee stopped the conversion kick, is according to protocol

TMO protocol – revised process September 2018
2 Potential infringement by the team touching the ball down in opposition in-goal
2.1 If, after a team in possession of the ball has touched the ball down in their opponents’ in-goal area (including after a try is awarded and before the conversion is struck), any of the match officials (including the TMO) have a view that there was a potential infringement, within the list of offences (see 2.3) before the ball was carried into in-goal by the team that touched the ball down, they may suggest that the referee refers the matter to the TMO for review.

Before the conversion is struck advert